Click to Home
Go To Search
Township Committee
Township Committee.jpg
India Larrier, Marlon Brownlee, Mayor Victor DeLuca, Deputy Mayor Nancy Adams, and Greg Lembrich.



  • 7:00 pm
  • First and third Tuesday of each month
  • Municipal Building
    574 Valley St.
    Maplewood, NJ 07040

Township Committee Form of Government
The Township of Maplewood operates under the Township Committee form of government, in which the five members are elected at large to staggered three year terms. The elections are partisan.

During the first week in January, the Township Committee meets for an annual reorganization. At this meeting the Township Committee elects one of the five members to serve as mayor for a one-year term. The mayor is chair for the Township Committee meetings, with voice and vote. The mayor is considered the head of the municipal government.

The Township Committee is the legislative body of the municipality. It is under these powers that the Township Committee has the responsibility for passing laws that affect the township. The Township Committee is also an executive body.

Under this form of government, the elected Township Committee sets policy and overall direction for the Township. The township staff, under the direction of the township administrator, carries out committee decisions and provides day-to-day services. The township administrator serves as the chief administrative officer and is accountable to the Township Committee.

    574 Valley St.
    Maplewood Township, NJ 07040
    Ph: (973) 762-8120